The Sephardic Synagogue

Synagogue
SITE OVERVIEW

The Jewish community of Pre-WW II Sighet had many synagogues and Shtebels (a small synagogue next to a home) with about a dozen large ones, serving the various religious denominations. The main larger synagogues belonged to orthodox and neolog Judaism. Neolog Judaism originated among a segment of Hungarian Jews, who integrated the emancipation decrees. The Conservative Movement evolved from Neolog Judaism Post WW II. Today the one and only remaining synagogue is the Sephardic Synagogue, also known as the Wijnitzer Klaus Synagogue. It was built in 1902 in an eclectic Moresque style, and was restored in 2004. The synagogue was a Vijnitzer Kloiz, and has nothing to do with the name “Klaus”. There is no daily or holidays Minyan, only when large groups are visiting the city.

No Fields Found.
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins
Error: Invalid Feed ID.